top of page

Great Lakes Waterfront Trail Adventure (GWTA) 2017

GWC 2016/17 Bronze Prize

(Extended - My Experiences on the GWTA)

DISCLOSURE – This post is LONG overdue.

More importantly, while I was offered this AMAZING prize, Sylvie Spraakman, GWC 2016/17 3rd-place finalist, is the true winner! Unfortunately, Sylvie had to decline the prize due to a scheduling conflict. Fortunately, Waterlution then offered it to me! I was so excited when I got the call from Dona, but when I checked my schedule - I noticed that I also had a scheduling conflict! I was traveling in the Yukon with my boyfriend, Victor Chan, and would not be back until 3 days into the GWTA. Thankfully, Waterlution and Waterfront Regeneration Trust agreed that it was no problem and I could join for the last 3 days of the GWTA! Those 3 days of cycling the Waterfront Trail was a trip I will never forget...

 

THE GREAT LAKES WATERFRONT TRAIL ADVENTURE

“I have never been on a guided cycle tour before…”, I thought as I pulled the metal lever over my front wheel locking my bike securely to the front of the bus, “I wonder what it will be like.”


I hopped onto the bus and found a window seat near the back. I stared at the trees and buildings that quickly passed by, listened to music, and daydreamed of the journey ahead. I had no idea what to expect, but I knew I was in for a ride!


I arrived in Brantford ~3km from the Mohawk Chapel – a mid-stopping point for the GWTA and my first meeting point. I checked my phone GPS, jumped on my bike and started pedaling, “the official start of my trip!”


After a small detour (getting lost), I found the chapel and saw a group of cyclists sitting in the shade of some tall oak trees. There were two tents set up with free* snacks and cold beverages, as well as local gifts for sale. I was so excited my heart started racing and my hands got sweaty – I arrived!


I grabbed some snacks and sat down to introduce myself to a few cyclists. I explained why I was there and why I had joined late. They welcomed me immediately and began to share stories about their GWTA experiences.


As I reflect on that first moment of the GWTA – sitting in a circle of cyclists, underneath these beautiful oak trees, on the sacred land of the Haudenosaunee, sharing stories, laughing, eating, drinking – four words come to mind: community, care, connect and cycle.


COMMUNITY


My first impression was that the GWTA had a very strong community. Many of the cyclists had returned to the GWTA for their 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and even 5th time. There was something special about this tour that had each of them coming back, and I could feel this great sense of community between the cyclists. Throughout my journey, I realized that the community extended beyond that circle of cyclists under the trees – it rippled through the volunteers, businesses, organizations, and local municipalities all around the Waterfront Trail.


CARE


As we cycled along the trail, the cyclists shared many stories of their experiences in the different farms, countryside, towns, cities, rivers and lakes. Their stories exhibited deep care for the Great Lakes, as well as the power of the trail to connect them to the land and water.


From the cyclists to local mayors, every person I encountered on the GWTA expressed true care for the Great Lakes and the Waterfront Trail. Everyone cared about protecting the Great Lakes for their families, neighbours, communities and the next generations to come.


The Waterfront Trail is part of Waterfront Regeneration Trust's signature project to care and protect for the Great Lakes. This trail provides access – for many individuals and communities – to the beautiful waters of the Great Lakes.


CONNECT


“Why do these cyclists keep coming back?” I wondered, “What is it about this cycle tour versus others?”


After spending 3 days on the Waterfront Trail with the GWTA cyclists, I realized why they came back year after year…

The GWTA has created a network of people who care about and are connected to the Great Lakes. The Waterfront Trail connects these individuals to the Great Lakes, with the communities around the Great Lakes, and with one another. Every year, Waterfront Regeneration Trust comes up with a new adventure along the Waterfront Trail, and so, the network just keeps getting bigger and bigger.


CYCLE

What ties this all together? Not just cycling, but a continuing cycle of a community who cares about and is connected to the Great Lakes.


Stop for a moment to imagine the water cycle – water evaporates from the surface of the earth, rises into the atmosphere, cools and condenses into rain or snow in clouds, and falls again to the surface as precipitation.


The GWTA is like the water cycle – cyclists sign up for the GWTA, during the GWTA they develop great care for the land, water and people along the Waterfront Trail, this mutual care transforms into a network of people connected to the Great Lakes, and then that care and connection ripples into the communities around the Great Lakes. This cycle repeats when (old and new) cyclists sign up again the following year.


Loose analogy? I think it works. ;)

 

Thank you Waterlution and Waterfront Regeneration Trust for the gracious opportunity to join the GWTA this year! I can’t wait until next time!

 

Endnote:


Free* - I would like to note that the snacks, food, beverages and accommodations were at no cost to me because I was offered the GWTA as a prize. These perks were included in the registration fee (which other cyclists had purchased).

bottom of page